Conference Carolinas to have 12 members in 2012-13 Academic Year

Conference Carolinas will have 12 members next year as St. Andrews University announced its move to NAIA membership and championship play at the conclusion of this year.  St. Andrews, no longer an NCAA member, is currently a scheduling partner within Conference Carolinas without the benefit of NCAA Division II tournament participation.

“St. Andrews participated in Conference Carolinas with great effort and sportsmanship for 23 years”, noted Commissioner, Alan Patterson.  “Their decision has been anticipated and our members understand that St. Andrews is moving in a direction that is reasonable for them.  We wish them well knowing they will continue to offer positive student-athlete experiences.”

Conference Carolinas will continue in their new divisional structure for the remainder of this season.  The divisional structure affords competing teams the opportunity to win regular season championship titles in both the Eastern and Western conference divisions for sports with inter-league regular season play.  League Athletics Directors will continue to evaluate the divisional structure over the current year and review the process for future years.

Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletic conference currently made up of 12 teams from North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Coker College, Converse College, Erskine College, King College, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, Mount Olive College, North Greenville University, Pfeiffer University, and Queens University of Charlotte.


Follow us on Facebook & Twitter