Three Conference Carolinas Teams and 35 Student-Athletes Earn 2017 ITA Academic Awards

TEMPE, ARIZ. - Conference Carolinas placed three teams and 35 student-athletes on the 2017 ITA All-Academic Teams and Scholar Athletes list, respectively, it was announced Tuesday (July 25) by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA).

To be named an ITA All-Academic Team a team must have a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 on a 4.0 scale. In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must be a varsity letter winner, have a grade point average of at least 3.50 on a 4.0 scale for the current academic year and have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).

Leading the way was University of Mount Olive with both its men and women's teams being named All-Academic Teams, while a total of 13 Trojans earned Scholar-Athlete honors.

The Emmanuel College women would also earn All-Academic honors, with nine players being named Scholar-Athletes. Belmont Abbey College collected seven total (four women, three men) Scholar-Athlete honors, while Barton College tallied six total (three women, three women).

Full ITA Academic Awards Release

Full DII Men's Release

Full DII Women's Release


2017 All-Academic Teams & Scholar Athletes - Division II Men
*denotes All-Academic Team

Barton College
Julian Bosch
Robert Taylor
Jake McCartney

Belmont Abbey College
Jacob Andress
George Barfoot
Tomas Pardo

University of Mount Olive*
Sherzod Akramov
Jacob Clarke
Ogulcan Deniz
Jack Middleton
Martin Moser
Martim Sousa


2017 All-Academic Teams & Scholar Athletes - Division II Women
*denotes All-Academic Team

Barton College
Daria Avram
Vanessa Sanoja-Alvarez
Lorraine Chon-Qui 

Belmont Abbey College
Hannah Davis
Emily Heim
Teagan McNamara
Alex Weber

Emmanuel College*
Pearllan Cipriano
Maria Raich
Victoria Silva
Katharina Kiderlen
Chloe O'Connor
Abi Muesse
Claudia Morris
Kaylee Kirby
Nina Nunukova

University of Mount Olive*
Emma Burroughs
Stella Di Michele
Mariana Gamboa
Julie Gonzalez-Rodriguez
Alejandra Hernandez
Nicole La Chappelle
Julissa Quintanilla

About ITA

 The ITA is the governing body of college tennis, overseeing men's and women's varsity tennis at all levels - NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and Junior/Community College.