Limestone College Captures Fourth Straight Conference Carolinas Joby Hawn Cup

HIGH POINT, N.C. – Limestone College put together a superb 2017-18 athletic year and notched another all-sports cup for its trophy case, collecting its fourth consecutive Conference Carolinas Joby Hawn Cup after the completion of the Conference's spring championships. The Hawn Cup is awarded to the league member that shows the highest rating of excellence in Conference-sponsored sports. The Hawn Cup is tallied after the fall, winter and spring seasons and then awarded each year in honor of former Commissioner H.C. "Joby" Hawn for his many years of service to the former Carolinas Conference.

Conference Carolinas names an overall Hawn Cup winner, as well as individual winners for men and women's sports, respectively. Hawn Cup points are awarded in each sport based on the order of regular season finish with bonus points going to the tournament champion (2 bonus points) and runner-up finisher (1 bonus point), based on the number of participating teams in each sport.

The Saints won their fourth straight overall Hawn Cup and their fifth in the last six years after leading from early on this Fall. Limestone earned 163.5 points out of a possible 195 for a .838 rating. Limestone's .838 rating was just below last year’s.929 rating. This year the Saints won championship titles and bonus points in women’s soccer, women’s golf, women’s lacrosse, and men’s soccer, while collecting runner-up finishes in women’s tennis, men’s indoor track & field, men’s outdoor track & field, and men’s lacrosse.

The University of Mount Olive finished second overall in the standings for the fourth straight year with a .772 mark. The Trojans took the most sport titles among all league teams with six teams winning their respective conference titles that included women’s cross country, women’s indoor track & field, women’s outdoor track & field, men’s cross country, men’s indoor track & field, and men’s outdoor track & field. They also had two runner-up finishes in men’s soccer and baseball.

North Greenville University placed third overall with .651 rating.  While improving every year since joining Conference Carolinas in the 2011-12 season, this was not only the Crusader’s biggest jump from one year to the next but also the highest NGU has ever placed. North Greenville won the men’s golf and baseball championships while finishing runner-up in softball.

Belmont Abbey College posted a .631 rating and were led by a championship in men’s lacrosse and five runner-up sport finishes in women’s cross country, women’s volleyball, men’s basketball, men’s tennis, and women’s lacrosse.

Rounding out the schools in order are: Barton College (.587), King University (.492), Lees-McRae College (.438), Southern Wesleyan University (.408), Erskine College (.394), and Converse College (.330).

For the individual men's Hawn Cup, Mount Olive posted a .865 rating to take the title in men’s conference-sponsored sports. Since the awards inception, UMO has won the men’s award five out of its eight year history. The Trojans finished first or second to earn bonus points in five of the ten conference-sponsored sports.  They earned titles in men’s cross country, men’s indoor track & field, and men’s outdoor track & field while finishing runner-up in men’s soccer, and baseball.

In the women’s Hawn Cup, Limestone won the individual title for conference-sponsored sports for the fifth straight year by collecting 96 of a possible 106 total points for .906 mark. The Saints earned bonus points in four of the ten league sponsored sports.


Link to the FULL 2017-18 Current Joby Hawn Cup Standings: 


Conference Carolinas Overall Joby Hawn Cup Winners

2017-18: Limestone College
2016-17: Limestone College
2015-16: Limestone College
2014-15: Limestone College
2013-14: University of Mount Olive
2012-13: Limestone College
2011-12: Mount Olive College
2010-11: Queens University of Charlotte
2009-10: Anderson University
2008-09: Anderson University
2007-08: Anderson University

Carolinas-Virginia Athletics Conference Joby Hawn Cup Winners

2006-07: Anderson University
2005-06: Pfeiffer University
2004-05: Barton College
2003-04: Barton College
2002-03: Barton College
2001-02: Lees-McRae College
2000-01: Queens College
1999-00: Belmont Abbey College
1998-99: Belmont Abbey College
1997-98: Queens College
1995-96: High Point University


Pre-CVAC Joby Hawn Cup Winners

1994-95: Pfeiffer
1993-94: High Point
1992-93: St. Andrews
1991-92: Pembroke
1990-91: Pfeiffer
1989-90: High Point
1988-89: Pembroke
1987-88: Elon
1986-87: Elon
1985-86: High Point
1984-85: High Point
1983-84: Pembroke
1982-83: Guilford
1981-82: Elon
1980-81: Elon
1979-80: High Point, Elon
1978-79: High Point
1977-78: High Point
1976-77: High Point
1975-76: High Point


Conference Carolinas Individual Men’s & Women’s Joby Hawn Cup Winners (started in 2010-11)

2017-18: Women: Limestone   Men: Mount Olive
2016-17: Women: Limestone                               Men: Limestone    
2015-16: Women: Limestone                               Men: Mount Olive    
2014-15: Women: Limestone                               Men: Mount Olive           
2013-14: Women: Mount Olive & Limestone (tie)   Men: Mount Olive
2012-13: Women: Queens                                   Men: Limestone
2011-12: Women: Mount Olive                             Men: Mount Olive            
2010-11: Women: Queens                                   Men: Queens

Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College is currently completing the NCAA DII Membership Process and will be fully competing in league championships in the near future.