2017 Conference Carolinas Men's Lacrosse All-Conference and Major Awards Announced

HIGH POINT, N.C.Limestone College's Charlie Sheehan and Belmont Abbey College's Adam Wiedemann were voted the 2017 Co-Conference Carolinas Men's Lacrosse Player of the Year. Limestone's Kevin Reisman collected the league's Defensive Player of the Year, while North Greenville University's Austin Dixon was named the Freshman of the Year. Additionally, Belmont Abbey's Chris Barrett garnered Coach of the Year honors, the Conference announced today.

Sheehan, a junior attack from St. Catharines, Ontario, earned Conference Carolinas Co-Offensive Player of the Year for the first time in his career, while notching Limestone its eighth straight. Sheehan has guided the nation’s top scoring offense with 46 goals and 11 assists for a team-high 57 points.

Wiedemann, a junior attack from Caledon East, Ontarion, was named Conference Carolinas Co-Offensive Player of the Year after notching 44 goals and 26 assists for 70 points.

Reisman, a senior faceoff specialist from West Babylon, N.Y., was named Defensive Player of the Year, the first major conference award for the three-time All-American. Reisman has posted a nation-leading 72.9 faceoff winning percentage, while also leading the nation in faceoff wins (261), groundballs (181) and groundballs per game (11.31).

Dixon, a freshman from Simpsonville, S.C., was tabbed Freshman of the Year after turning in one of the best individual seasons in the program’s short history. Dixon posted 64 points on 38 goals and 26 assists on the season, while also scooping up 29 groundballs.

In his six years at the helm, Barrett has posted a 56-40 record and has led the Crusaders to the Conference Carolinas tournament each year.


All-Conference Carolinas First Team

A – Charlie Sheehan, Limestone

A – Adam Wiedemann, Belmont Abbey

A – Jacob Ball, Mount Olive

A – Ryan Maciejewski, Limestone

MF – Colton Watkinson, Limestone

MF – Kyle McGinley, Belmont Abbey

MF – Alex Proly, North Greenville

D – Anthony Cesario, Belmont Abbey

D – Tyler Gaulton, Limestone

D – Billy Koelmel, Limestone

D – Cole Groebner, Mount Olive

LSM – Ryan Mulka, Limestone

Spec. – Kevin Reisman, Limestone

GK – Will Urban, Mount Olive

GK – Harley Whitham, Belmont Abbey


All-Conference Carolinas Second Team

A – Brendan P. Smith, Limestone

A – Brett Kingston, Mount Olive

A – Austin Dixon, North Greenville

A – Jake Foster, North Greenville

A – Alec Molander, Lees-McRae

MF – Ben Higgins, Limestone

MF – Kyle Barna, Pfeiffer

MF – Thatcher Clark, Mount Olive

D – Sky Dupree, North Greenville

D – Zach Randolph, North Greenville

D – Andrew Martin, Limestone

LSM – Cody Agrella, Belmont Abbey

LSM – Skyler King, Mount Olive

Spec. – Billy Huss, Belmont Abbey

GK – Braeden Dixon, North Greenville


Co-Offensive Player of the Year

Charlie Sheehan, Limestone

Adam Wiedemann, Belmont Abbey

Defensive Player of the Year

Kevin Reisman, Limestone

Freshman of the Year

Austin Dixon, North Greenville

Coach of the Year

Chris Barrett, Belmont Abbey


Regular Season Men's Lacrosse Champion

Limestone College


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athleticconference made up of 12 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount OliveNorth Greenville University, Pfeiffer University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College is currently completing the NCAA DII membership process and will be fully competing in league championships in the near future.