2016 Conference Carolinas Men's Soccer All-Conference and Major Awards Announced

HIGH POINT, N.C.Pfeiffer University forward Nathan Regis was voted the 2016 Conference Carolinas Men's Soccer Player of the Year, while teammate Dani Siaj and Limestone College's Louis Robles were named the Conference's Defensive Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year, respectively. In addition, Pfeiffer's Bob Reasso was named the Coach of the Year, the Conference announced today.

A senior from Arima, Trinidad & Tobago, Regis earns his second straight Conference Carolinas Player of the Year award, as he capped off his career with another huge campaign. Regis leads the league in goals (20), points (47) and game-winning goals (8), while ranking fifth in assists (7). Regis recorded at least one point in 15 of his 18 matches on the year and has six multi-goal efforts.

Siaj, a senior from Madrid, Spain, was named the Conference Carolinas Defensive Player of the Year after anchoring a backline that posted seven consecutive shutouts from Oct. 1 to Oct. 22 and held opponents scoreless for 681 consecutive minutes. Behind his leadership, the Falcons only allowed four goals in league play, as Pfeiffer outscored conference opponents 48-4. Siaj played a pivotal role in the Pfeiffer defense allowing 15 total goals in 18 matches this season.

A forward from Liverpool, England, Robles becomes the sixth player in Limestone history to earn the distinction of Freshman of the Year. Robles posted 10 goals and five assists for a total of 25 points so far during his rookie campaign, ranking eighth in the conference in both goals and total points.

Reasso takes home the Conference Carolinas Coach of the Year for the second straight season. He led the Falcons to a second straight 10-0 regular season and has guided Pfeiffer to 23 consecutive regular season wins in league play. The Falcons took their dominance to another level in 2016, outscoring conference opponents 48-4. Offensively, the Falcons have scored 84 total goals, 33 more than any other team in the conference.

Joining Regis on the list of first team forwards is teammates Jaime Siaj and Santi Moar and Limestone's Gui Machado. Martim Galvao and Jorge Buzzo of Pfeiffer and Jorge Salvat of Limestone made up first-team midfielders.

The defensive backline saw Siaj joined by the Limestone duo of Nestor Aguilar and Sam Hibbert as first team defenders, while Tomas Correa of Pfeiffer was the first team goalie.


Men's All-Conference First Team

Nathan Regis, Pfeiffer - Forward

Gui Machado, Limestone - Forward

Jaime Siaj, Pfeiffer - Forward

Santi Moar, Pfeiffer - Forward

Martim Galvao, Pfeiffer - Midfielder

Jorge Salvat, Limestone - Midfielder

Jorge Buzzo, Pfeiffer - Midfielder

Dani Siaj, Pfeiffer - Defender

Nestor Aguilar, Limestone - Defender

Sam Hibbert, Limestone - Defender

Tomas Correa, Pfeiffer - Goalkeeper


Men's All-Conference Second Team

Louis Robles, Limestone – Forward

Daniel Jonna, Erskine - Forward

Pol Vassart, Lees-McRae - Forward

Thomas Deeley, Lees-McRae - Midfielder

Michel Herszenhaut, Southern Wesleyan - Midfielder

Corentin Guegan, Limestone - Midfielder

Cristobal Allendes, Pfeiffer - Defender

James Morgan, Lees-McRae - Defender

Clay Dimick, Belmont Abbey - Defender

Juan Sanchez, Pfeiffer - Defender

Jens Madsen Hordvik, Barton - Goalkeeper


Men's All-Conference Third Team

Eli Carrasco, King - Forward

Christian Taylor, Southern Wesleyan - Forward

Roberto Soares, Pfeiffer - Forward

Cameron Whitehurst, Erskine - Midfielder

Fernando Posada, Southern Wesleyan – Midfielder

Faber Bickerstaffe, King - Midfielder

Mats Kaiser, Limestone - Midfielder

Harry Hagon, Erskine - Defender

Nestor Gonzalez, Southern Wesleyan - Defender

Miguel Anton, Limestone - Defender

Martin Arias, Erskine - Goalkeeper


Player of the Year

Nathan Regis, Pfeiffer

Defensive Player of the Year

Dani Siaj, Pfeiffer

Freshman of the Year

Louis Robles, Limestone

Coach of the Year

Bob Reasso, Pfeiffer

Men's Soccer Regular Season Champions

Pfeiffer University 


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athleticconference made up of 12 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount OliveNorth Greenville University, Pfeiffer University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College is currently completing the NCAA DII membership process and will be fully competing in league championships in the near future.