No. 1 Seed Limestone Wins 2018 Conference Carolinas Men's Soccer Championship

HIGH POINT, N.C. – Limestone College nabbed the 2018 Conference Carolinas Men's Soccer Championship on Saturday (Nov. 3) night after beating Chowan University, 1-0 in double-overtime. The No. 19 nationally ranked Saints move to 13-3-1 overall, while the Hawks dropped to 11-4-2 on the season.

The win earns Limestone the season sweep of regular season and tournament titles. The Saints also secured a trip to the NCAA Men's Soccer Championship as an automatic qualifier, with the appearance being the team's sixth straight.

The first 45 minutes would be slow for both teams, as a total of six shots would be taken with the Saints blasting four and the Hawks with two. The second 45 minutes would produce six more shots, with the Saints tallying five of them before playing to a 0-0 stalemate at the end of regulation.

The Saints and Hawks would head to extra time and the first overtime period would yield two shots, both for Limestone. The second overtime period would see Chowan have a chance to seal the match as Trevin Myers would just miss high on a cross.

The Limestone would register two shots in the second overtime, with the second shot leading to be the match-winner. Following a brief match delay because of dog on the pitch, Ivan Tapuskovic would serve up a cross from the left wing to the back post in the 108th minute, which would connect with the head of Raphael Bartmann for the 1-0 victory.

Limestone, who is No. 3 in the Southeast region, will find out its 2018 NCAA Division II Men's Soccer Championship draw on Monday (Nov. 5) night at 6 p.m. on the NCAA Selection Show. Chowan, who ranks No. 7 in the Southeast, has a chance to sneak into the tournament as an at-large selection.


2018 All-Championship Team
Ben Delisle, King
Blair Springhall, Emmanuel
Elliot Chadderton, Chowan
Octavio Espino, Chowan
Jamie McNicholas, Chowan
Roberto Ortega Lopez, Limestone
Tristyn de Laaf, Limestone
Raphael Bartmann, Limestone
Jamie Smith, Limestone

2018 Most Outstanding Player

Ivan Tapuskovic, Limestone

2018 Conference Carolinas Men's Soccer Champion

Limestone College


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University.