Mount Olive Wins 2018 Conference Carolinas Men's Cross Country Championship

MOUNT OLIVE, N.C. – The University of Mount Olive men won the 2018 Conference Carolinas Men's Cross Country Championship on Saturday (Nov. 3) morning. Mount Olive's Christian Duran took the individual title in the men's 8K race to earn Conference Carolinas Runner of the Year honors.

Mount Olive registered a score of 15, its third perfect score in four years, placing the top 11 runners in the race. Lees-McRae College would place second with a team score of 69, while Emmanuel College placed third with a score of 88.

North Greenville University took fourth with a score of 105, while Southern Wesleyan University placed fifth with 156 points and Barton College in sixth with 169 points. Rounding out the results were Belmont Abbey College in seventh with 194 points, Limestone College in eight with 214 points and King University in ninth with 214 points.

Individually, Duran of Mount Olive came in first after running the race in 26:07.7 to capture Conference Carolinas Runner of the Year honors, while teammate Jay Hall finished 10th overall with a time of 26:28.5 to claim Freshman of the Year recognition.

Mount Olive head coach, Matt van Lierop, was named Conference Carolinas Coach of the Year after leading the No. 9 nationally ranked Trojans to their seventh straight conference championship.

New to the Conference Carolinas postseason award offering is the Elite 23 Award. The Elite 23 Award is modeled after the NCAA's Elite 90 Award, which is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumlative GPA at their respective championship site. The inaugural winner for men's cross country is North Greenville's Joshua Hovis. Hovis, a junior from Taylors, S.C., majors in criminal justice and sports a cumulative 3.806 GPA.


Full Conference Carolinas MXC Championship Results

The top 15 finishers were named All-Conference selections:

2018 Conference Carolinas Men's All-Conference Teams

All-Conference First Team
Christian Duran, Mount Olive
Alexandre Durand, Mount Olive
Jereamy Hall, Mount Olive
Jacob Willis, Mount Olive
Jacob Gonzalez, Mount Olive

All-Conference Second Team
Tai Smith, Mount Olive
Brandon Oduor, Mount Olive
Daniel Francken, Mount Olive
Josh Hall, Mount Olive
Jay Hall, Mount Olive

All-Conference Third Team
Altan Cornu, Mount Olive
Jake Morgan, Emmanuel
Tristin Bertie, Lees-McRae
Austin Thompson, Lees-McRae
Peyton Shelton, Southern Wesleyan


Conference Carolinas Men's Cross Country Champion: 
University of Mount Olive

Runner of the Year:
Christian Duran, Mount Olive

Freshman of the Year:
Jay Hall, Mount Olive

Coach of the Year:
Matt van Lierop, Mount Olive

Elite 23 Award:
Joshua Hovis, North Greenville


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University.