No. 4 Seed King Wins 2018 Conference Carolinas Softball Championship

BURLINGTON, N.C. - No. 4 seed King University captured the 2018 Conference Carolinas Softball Championship on Sunday (Apr. 29) afternoon.

The Tornado knocked off defending champion and No. 3 seed North Greenville University, 7-0, in the 'if necessary' game after winning 15-2 earlier in the day. The win automatically qualifies King for the 2018 NCAA Division II Softball Championship.


2018 Softball All-Championship Team:

Sarah Tucker - Lees-McRae College

Melissa Neyhouse - Belmont Abbey College

Mary Hart - Limestone College

Lindsey Mason - Limestone College

Anna Ingram - University of Mount Olive

Mallory Ratcliff - University of Mount Olive

Jaelin Griffin - North Greenville University

Celsea Rivers - North Greenville University

Amanda Coffrin - North Greenville University

Hannah Riddle - King University

Summer Hayes - King University

Erin Roper - King University


2018 Softball Championship MVP:

Leslie Odom - King University


2018 Conference Carolinas Softball Champion

King University


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College is currently completing the NCAA Membership Process and will be fully competing in league championships in the near future.