Limestone's Kearse Named Conference Carolinas Female Athlete of the Year

HIGH POINT, N.C. - Limestone College's women's basketball player Jasmine Kearse has been named the Conference Carolinas Female Athlete of the Year for 2016-17, the Conference announced today. The award marks the third straight year a Limestone athlete has won the award and fifth time over the seven years.

Kearse, a guard from St. Augustine, Fla., capped her outstanding Saint career by winning the Female Athlete of the Year award for the second straight season.

Kearse was named the 2016-17 Women's Division II Bulletin Preseason Player of the Year to begin her senior season, which finished with the sharp-shooter winning her second straight Conference Carolinas Women's Basketball Player of the Year award. Kearse was also named to a pair of All America teams after guiding the Saints to their sixth straight regular season title. A year after breaking the program's single-season scoring record, she broke the single-season assist record with 189 dimes during her senior year.

Kearse, who ranked 11th nationally with 5.9 assists per game during the 2016-17 campaign, graduated as the program's all-time leader in points, assists, three-pointers, game played, and games started while ranking third in team history in steals. She posted 16.5 points per game in leading the Blue and Gold to its sixth straight NCAA Women's Basketball Championship appearance. 


Jasmine Kearse 2016-17 Accolades:

  • 2016-17 Women's Division II Bulletin Preseason Player of the Year
  • 2016-17 Women's Division II Bulletin Super 16 Preseason All-America
  • 2016-17 Women's Division II Bulletin Third Team All America
  • 2016-17 HERO Sports Preseason First Team All-America
  • 2016-17 HERO Sports Second Team All-America
  • 2016-17 D2CCA First Team All-Southeast Region
  • 2016-17 Conference Carolinas Women's Basketball Championship Tourney Team
  • 2016-17 Conference Carolinas Player of the Year
  • 2016-17 First-Team All-Conference Carolinas
  • 5x Conference Carolinas Player of the Week


Conference Carolinas Female Athlete of the Year Winners

Conference Carolinas

2016-17            Jasmine Kearse, Limestone 

2015-16             Jasmine Kearse, Limestone 

2014-15             Alicia Brookins, Limestone

2013-14             Nyeshea Willie, Barton

2012-13             Kay Schellenberg, Belmont Abbey

2011-12             Ashley Alderin-Fleagle, Limestone

2010-11             Racquel Prager, Limestone

2009-10             Tanya Zeferjahn, Queens

2008-09             Lauryn Wise, Limestone

2007-08             Samantha Mitchell, Mount Olive


Carolinas-Virginia Athletics Conference

2006-07              Deidra Langston, Anderson

2005-06              Keauna Vinson, Barton

2004-05              LaShonda Chiles, Anderson

2003-04              Tina Gonsalves, St. Andrews

2002-03              Jennifer Potts, Longwood

2001-02              Shemkia Reid, Barton

2000-01              Jen Calderwood, Lees-McRae

1999-00              Angela Placona, Belmont Abbey

1998-99              Missy Paterson, Coker

1997-98              Missy Paterson, Coker

1996-97              Missy Paterson, Coker

1995-96              Staci Albright, Coker


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College is currently completing the NCAA Membership Process and will be fully competing in league championships in the near future.