2018 Conference Carolinas Women's Tennis All-Conference and Major Awards Announced

HIGH POINT, N.C.Chowan University's Polina Novachuk was crowned the 2018 Conference Carolinas Women's Tennis Player of the Year, while teammate Hanna Tarlouskaya earned Freshman of the Year honors. In addition, Chowan's Chris Stambaugh picked up Coach of the Year accolades, the Conference announced today.

Novachuk, a senior from Krasnoyarsk, Russia, posted a 19-4 overall record this season, including a 10-1 mark in Conference Carolinas play at the No. 1 singles flight. She was named Conference Carolinas Player of the Week five times this year, as she helped lead Chowan to a perfect 11-0 mark in league play and a 17-3 overall record.

Tarlouskaya, a freshman from Minsk, Belarus, was a strong competitor for the Hawks at the No. 3 flight, posting a 17-5 record this season. She posted an 8-2 conference mark in singles play, while going unbeaten in doubles action (11-0) this season.

Stambaugh led the Hawks to Chowan's first-ever Conference Carolinas regular season title, going unbeaten in league play at 11-0. Stambaugh's squad posted a 17-3 overall mark and went 8-0 in home matches this season.

Chowan landed four players on the first team, as Novachuk and Tarlouskaya were joined by teammates Cynthia Carrier and Vika Smolchenkova. Rounding out the first team was Marissa Stevenson of Barton College and Camille Haus of Limestone College.


All-Conference Carolinas First Team

Polina Novachuk, Chowan

Marissa Stevenson, Barton

Cynthia Carrier, Chowan

Vika Smolchenkova, Chowan

Camille Haus, Limestone

Hanna Tarlouskaya, Chowan

All-Conference Carolinas Second Team

Daria Avram, Barton

Sonja Gartner, Mount Olive

Teagan McNamara, Belmont Abbey

Areej Fareh, Mount Olive

Vanessa Sanoja, Barton

Alexandra Dolfi, Limestone

All-Conference Carolinas Third Team

Lenka Styblova, Chowan

Ada Vargas, Barton

Katie Loudermilk, Erskine

Angelique Gouin, Chowan

Laura Brazuelo, North Greenville

Kristi Cooper, Southern Wesleyan


Player of the Year

Polina Novachuk, Chowan

Freshman of the Year

Hanna Tarlouskaya, Chowan

Coach of the Year

Chris Stambaugh, Chowan

Regular Season Women's Tennis Champion

Chowan University


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athleticconference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount OliveNorth Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College is currently completing the NCAA DII membership process and will be fully competing in league championships in the near future.