Two Conference Carolinas Individuals Earn Major Regional Outdoor Track and Field Awards from USTFCCCA

NEW ORLEANS, LA. – The University of Mount Olive duo of Leah Hanle and Matthew van Lierop each earned Southeast regional honors from the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA), it was announced Tuesday (May 22) afternoon.

Each of the eight regions honored both genders’ top track athletes and field athletes, and the top men’s and women’s head coaches and assistant coaches..

Hanle was tabbed the Women's Southeast Track Athlete of the Year, while van Lierop earned Women's Southeast Coach of the Year.

Award winners were determined by a vote of USTFCCCA member coaches. Only those individuals from USTFCCCA member programs are eligible for awards.

Full USTFCCCA Release


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College is currently completing the NCAA Membership Process and will be fully competing in league championships in the near future.