North Greenville's Jones Named Conference Carolinas Male Athlete of the Year

HIGH POINT, N.C.North Greenville University baseball player Utah Jones has been named the Conference Carolinas Male Athlete of the Year for 2018-19, the Conference announced today. Jones' win marks NGU's first-ever Male Athlete of the Year.

Jones, a sport management major from Stillwater, Okla. had an outstanding senior campaign during the 2018-19 season, compiling numerous conference, regional and national accolades.

Jones batted .406 with 84 hits, 67 runs scored, 52 RBI, 21 doubles, 18 stolen bases, five home runs and a .496 on base percentage during the season. Jones' performance allowed him to lead the league in batting average, hits, doubles and on base percentage, while finishing second in runs and fifth in both stolen bases and RBI.

Jones collected his helping of postseason awards, as he was first tabbed the Co-Conference Carolinas Player of the Year and first team All-Conference Carolinas. Regionally, Jones was named the Southeast Region Player of Year by the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA), Division II Conference Commissioner's Association (D2CCA) and National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA), while also earning first team All-Region honors from each organization. Jones would then earn first team All-America honors from the ABCA, D2 CCA and NCBWA.

Jones' 2018-19 season was capped by him being drafted with the 876th pick in the 29th round of the Major League Baseball Draft by the Seattle Mariners.


Conference Carolinas Male Athlete of the Year Winners

Conference Carolinas

2018-19             Utah Jones, North Greenville

2017-18              Adam Craig, Mount Olive

2016-17              Kevin Reisman, Limestone     

2015-16              Mike Messenger, Limestone

2014-15              Kevin Reisman, Limestone      

2013-14              Bradon Reitano, Mount Olive         

2012-13              Riley Loewen, Limestone              

2011-12              Jake Ternosky, Limestone            

2010-11              Carter Capps, Mount Olive            

2009-10              Bryan Fogle, Erskine                    

2008-09              Michael Crouch, Queens            

2007-08              Jason Sherrer, Mount Olive           


Carolinas-Virginia Athletics Conference

2006-07              Anthony Atkinson, Barton            

2005-06              Brock Godwin, Barton                 

2004-05              Casey Smith, Erskine                   

2003-04              Spencer Ross, Queens                  

2002-03              Andrew McArthur, Pfeiffer             

2001-02              Ben Case, Pfeiffer                       

2000-01              Colin Ducharme, Longwood          

1999-00              Nem Sovic, Pfeiffer                      

1998-99              Todd Bailess, Barton                    

1997-98              Soce Faye, Queens                       

1996-97              Dan Shanks, Coker                      

1995-96              Brett Speight, High Point              


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 12 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Chowan University, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University.