Seven Conference Carolinas Swimmers Named to 2018-19 CSCAA Scholar All-American Team

COLORADO SPRINGS, COLO. - Conference Carolinas placed seven individuals on the 2018-19 Scholar All-American Team, it was announced Tuesday (July 2) the College Swimming & Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA).

The Scholar All-America team recognizes students that have achieved a grade point average of 3.50 or higher and competed at their respective NCAA/NAIA/NJCAA Swimming and Diving Championships.

In addition to the 1,221 first-team selections, 890 students were named as Honorable Mention selections. These students have similarly achieved a GPA of 3.50 and achieved a "B" time standard or competed at an NCAA Regional or Zone Diving qualifier. In total, 282 teams placed at least one individual on one of the teams.

Of the seven honorees, two were named first team selections and five were tabbed honorable mentions. Emmanuel College led the way with four students being named to the team, while Barton College landed two recipients and King University posted one honoree.

On the women's side, Barton was represented by Kleanza Cathers and Nicola Macdonald. Emmanuel had Natalie Hayes and Karolina Ostojska round out the list.

On the men's side, Emmanuel's Igor Dantas and Rafael Mendes were name first team selections, while King's Simen Vik earned honorable mention status.

Full CSCAA All-America Team Release


2018-19 All-American Team - Division II Women
Kleanza Cathers, Barton (HM)
Nicola Macdonald, Barton (HM)
Natalie Hayes, Emmanuel (HM)
Karolina Ostojska, Emmanuel (HM)

2018-19 All-American Team - Division II Men
Igor Dantas, Emmanuel
Rafael Mendes, Emmanuel
Simen Vik, King (HM)


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 12 schools from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Chowan University, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University.