Nine Conference Carolinas Baseball Players Named NCBWA All-Region; NGU's Burgess and Jones Earn Major Awards

WINGATE, N.C. - Nine Conference Carolinas baseball players were named to the 2019 Southeast All-Region teams by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA), the association announced Wednesday (May 22) afternoon. In addition to the all-region selections, North Greenville University's Tucker Burgess and Utah Jones earned Pitcher of the Year and Player of the Year, respectively.

North Greenville led the way with a conference-high six players on the team. Chowan UniversityErskine College and University of Mount Olive each earned one honoree to round out the selections.

NGU would post four first team selections in Burgess, Jones, John Michael Faile and Adam Sasser. Chowan's Marquise Lanier and Mount Olive's Joe Mason closed out the league's first team picks.

On the second team, North Greenville posted Michael Giacone and Jared Williams, while Erskine's Drew Yniesta was the final honoree for Conference Carolinas.

See the full NCBWA Release here

2019 NCBWA Division II All-Southeast Region Team

Player of the Year: Utah Jones, North Greenville
Pitcher of the Year: Tucker Burgess, North Greenville

First Team
C - John Michael Faile, North Greenville
1B - Adam Sasser, North Greenville
SS - Utah Jones, North Greenville
OF - Marquise Lanier, Chowan
UT - Joe Mason, Mount Olive
SP - Tucker Burgess, North Greenville

Second Team
3B - Drew Yniesta, Erskine
UT - Jared Williams, North Greenville
SP - Michael Giacone, North Greenville

Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University.