Mount Olive Sweeps Trophy Case at 2016 Conference Carolinas Men's Cross Country Championship

CONCORD, N.C. – The University of Mount Olive men won the 2016 Conference Carolinas Men's Cross Country Championship at Frank Liske Park in Concord, N.C. on Friday afternoon. Mount Olive's Pol Domenech-Ferrer took the individual title in the men's 8K race to earn Conference Carolinas Runner of the Year honors.

Mount Olive registered a score of 24, placing the top two runners in the race and 10 out of the top 13. Lees-McRae would place second with a team score of 69, while King placed third with a score of 74.

Limestone took fourth with a score of 125, while Barton edged Pfeiffer for fifth place with 161 points to 162, respectively. Taking seventh was North Greenville with a score of 170, eighth was host Belmont Abbey with 185 and rounding out the standings were Southern Wesleyan and Erskine in ninth and 10th with scores of 246 and 251, respectively.

Individually, Domenech Ferrer of Mount Olive came in first after running the race in 26:22.63 to capture Conference Carolinas Runner of the Year honors, while teammate Altan Cornu finished seventh overall with a time of 27:04.59 to claim Freshman of the Year recognition.

Mount Olive head coach, Matt van Lierop, was named Conference Carolinas coach of the year after leading the No. 17 nationally ranked Trojans to their fifth straight conference championship.

Full Conference Carolinas MXC Championship Results

The top 15 finishers were named All-Conference selections:

2016 Conference Carolinas Men's All-Conference Teams

All-Conference First Team
Pol Domenech-Ferrer, Mount Olive
Adam Craig, Mount Olive
Tanner Cook, King
Joel Lagat, Barton
Austin Thompson, Lees-McRae

All-Conference Second Team
Christopher Perez, Mount Olive
Altan Cornu, Mount Olive
Brady Deaner, Mount Olive
Fredric Lang, Mount Olive
Tai Smith, Mount Olive

All-Conference Third Team
Jonathan Dahlke, Mount Olive
Josh Hall, Mount Olive
Jacob Urys, Mount Olive
Shawn Graves, Lees-McRae
Scott Swing, Limestone


Conference Carolinas Tournament Champion: 
University of Mount Olive

Runner of the Year:
Pol Domenech-Ferrer, Mount Olive

Freshman of the Year:
Altan Cornu, Mount Olive

Coach of the Year:
Matt van Lierop, Mount Olive


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 12 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, Pfeiffer University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College is currently completing the NCAA Membership Process and will be fully competing in league championships in the near future.