2018-19 Conference Carolinas Women's Golf All-Conference and Major Awards Announced

HIGH POINT, N.C. – Limestone College's Pilar Martinez headlines the 2018-19 Conference Carolinas Women's Golf major awards, as she earned Conference Carolinas Golfer of the Year. University of Mount Olive's Linn Anderson was tabbed the Freshman of the Year, while Limestone's Zack Siefert was tabbed Coach of the Year.

New to the Conference Carolinas postseason award offering is the Elite 23 Award. The Elite 23 Award is modeled after the NCAA's Elite 90 Award, which is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative GPA at their respective championship site. The inaugural winner for women's golf is North Greenville University's Miriam Sundell.

Martinez, a junior from Malaga, Spain, became the third golfer in Limestone's program history to be named Conference Carolinas Golfer of the Year. The two-time all-conference selection enjoyed a breakout season with seven top-10 finishes, four top-5 placements, and Conference Carolinas Championship Medalist honors. She averaged 74.46 strokes over 28 rounds at some of the top tournaments in the country and posted 10 rounds at or below par

Andersson, a freshman from Akersberga, Sweden, earns Freshman of the Year honors.

For the fourth time in his career, Coach Siefert has been named the Conference Carolinas Women's Golf Coach of the Year. Siefert guided the No. 14 Saints to their second straight Conference Carolinas Championship, and the program's fifth league title over the past six years, while leading the team to tournament wins at the Patsy Rendleman Invitational and the Flagler Fall Slam. Additionally, three different Limestone golfers collected individual medalist honors during the course of the season.

Sundell, a junior intercultural studies major from Shelby, N.C., sports a cumulative 3.963 GPA. 

Joining Martinez on the first team is Limestone teammates Ebba Hellman, Reme Cortes and Hailey Cleary, while North Greenville's Savannah Hallman rounds out the team.


All-Conference First Team
Pilar Martinez (Limestone)
Ebba Hellman (Limestone)
Reme Cortes (Limestone)
Hailey Cleary (Limestone)
Savannah Hallman (North Greenville)

All-Conference Second Team
Roxane Nataf (King)
Johanna Andersson (Mount Olive)
Tyler Dawson (Converse)
Linn Andersson (Mount Olive)
Claire Page (Southern Wesleyan)

All-Conference Third Team
Delanie Mortier (Limestone)
Lindsey Burton (Mount Olive)
Vienna Winalski (Converse)
Anna Parramore (Erskine)
Jenna Nagy (Belmont Abbey)

Player of the Year
Pilar Martinez (Limestone)

Freshman of the Year
Linn Andersson (Mount Olive)

Coach of the Year
Zack Siefert (Limestone)

Elite 23 Award
Miriam Sundell (North Greenville)


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University.