Conference Carolinas Announces Women’s Soccer Award Winners

High Point, N.C. -  Conference Carolinas announces the women’s soccer all-conference teams during this week's Conference Carolinas Men's & Women's Soccer Championship Tournament. Awards include All-Conference First, Second, & Third teams, Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Freshman of the Year, and Regular Season Champions. Head coaches from conference member institutions nominate and then vote on the award winners who represent the best of the best for the league.  


The conference championships started Monday with the top eight teams qualifying for quarterfinal action. Semifinal play resumes Thursday (men) and Friday (women) with the championship finals on Saturday (men) and Sunday (women). All games are played at the highest remaining seed after the quarterfinal round. Converse is the host of the women’s tournament, while Limestone hosts the men’s tournament. The women's tournament champion receives an automatic berth to the NCAA DII championships while the top six regionally ranked men's teams will qualify for postseason play.



Women's Soccer Offensive Player of the Year

Gabriella Reid, Limestone 

Forward, Senior

Gabriella Reid – Senior forward Gabriella Reid earned her second Conference Carolinas Player of the Year award after leading the Saints with 10 goals and five assists for a total of 25 points. She became the first player in Limestone College women’s soccer history to record 10 or more goals in each of her four years. Reid currently ranks second in the conference in goals and points and is tied for fifth in assists, and guided the Saints to their highest ever seeding in the conference tournament

Women's Soccer Defensive Player of the Year

Leah Kennington, Limestone

Forward, Junior

Leah Kennington – Junior defender Leah Kennington has anchored a stingy Limestone defense that has posted five shutouts in conference and seven overall. She helped lead the Saints to its highest ever seeding in the Conference Carolinas Tournament by limiting opponents to just 12 goals in league play. Kennington has one goal on the season, connecting on a penalty kick in a 4-3 win over Belmont Abbey.


Women's Soccer Freshman of the Year

Hulda Sigurdardottir, King 

Midfielder, Freshman 

Hulda Sigurdardottir headlined this group as she was named the Conference Carolinas Freshman of the Year. In her first season in the Scarlett and Navy, Sigurdardottir netted four goals and dished out five assists which ranks fifth in the league. She scored King’s lone goal in their overtime conference tournament loss at Belmont Abbey College, as she evened the score at 1-1 in the 71st minute. Her first career goal was in King’s 3-1 win over Belmont Abbey and she scored her first game-winning goal against Erskine College. The goal came in the 78th minute and gave King a 3-2 comeback win. She added another goal in King’s 3-0 win at Lees-McRae College while she posted two assists twice, first coming at Emmanuel College and again against Southern Wesleyan University. The Reykjavik, Iceland native also garnered first team all-conference honors.



Women's Soccer Coach of the Year

John Constable, Converse


4th season as Head Coach

Coach John Constable took over the reins of the Valkyrie Soccer program in 2011 that had not seen a winning season since the program was reinstated in 1998. In four years Constable took a team from 2-15-1 to a program best 15-2-1 with a Conference Carolinas Regular Season Championship, regional rankings and a third straight postseason appearance. Constable’s Valkyries were picked seventh in this year’s preseason poll before claiming the regular season title. The Valkyries finished the regular season with a 15-2-1 record and a 9-1-1 record in league play to earn the top seed and the right to host the Conference Carolinas Final Four.


Women's All-Conference 1st-Team

Gabriella Reid, Limestone -Forward

Alexandra Marquez, Converse -Forward

Rachel Thorpe, King –Forward

Zoe Fisher, Limestone -Forward

Hulda Sigurdardottir, King -Midfielder

Emily Futral, Barton -Midfielder

Jillian Lang, Belmont Abbey –Midfielder

Leah Kennington, Limestone -Defender

Kaitlin Sampson, Pfeiffer -Defender

Cheyenne Warrick, Lees-McRae -Defender

Carson Moore, Barton -Goalkeeper


Women's All-Conference 2nd-Team

Aaliyah Jackson, Pfieffer -Forward

Cierra Skyers, Belmont Abbey -Forward

Meghan Philp, Belmont Abbey –Forward

Georgia Jones, Converse –Midfielder

Allie Winglosky, Limestone -Midfielder

Lane Brooks, Barton -Midfielder

Kasey Byzewski, Barton -Defender

Madeline Gadd, Pfeiffer -Defender

Bethany Spivey, Converse -Defender

Halley Wisner, Converse -Defender

Blakeney Blair, Pfeiffer -Goalkeeper


Women's All-Conference 3rd-Team

Catherine Walsh, King -Forward

Meagan Thornton, Lees-McRae -Forward

Nichole Poppe, Mount Olive -Forward

Tori Jackson, Pfeiffer –Midfielder

Kayla Rodriguez, Pfeiffer –Midfielder

Natalie Johnson, Converse -Midfielder

Cassidy Coutinho, Belmont Abbey -Midfielder

Megan Nanney, Belmont Abbey -Defender

Brittany Jakiela, Erskine -Defender

Helen Winterburn, Limestone -Defender

Kaitlyn Briggs, Lees-McRae -Goalkeeper


Women's Soccer Regular Season Champions

Converse College