No. 1 Seed Limestone Wins 2018 Conference Carolinas Women's Soccer Championship

HIGH POINT, N.C. – Limestone College completed its quest for a four-peat on Sunday (Nov. 4) afternoon by winning the Conference Carolinas Women's Soccer Championship with a 1-0 victory over Belmont Abbey College. The No. 20 nationally ranked Saints move to 17-2-0 overall, while the Crusaders dropped to 13-4-1 on the season.

The Saints also swept the regular season and tourney titles for the third consecutive year, while booking their fourth straight trip to the NCAA Division II Women's Soccer Championship as an automatic qualifier.

The squads would play to a 0-0 tie through the first 45 minutes of action. Limestone would manage five shots in the half, while Belmont Abbey registered two attempts.

The second half would see both teams have chance to take the lead as they combined for 10 shots, six for the Saints and four for the Crusaders. However, the Saints' sixth shot of the half would prove to be the difference maker. Off an assist from Emma Hickson in the 88th minute, Selina Boveleth would put Limestone up 1-0 with a shot from 25 yards out that beat the Belmont Abbey keeper top shelf. The Saints would then lock-in defensively to secure their fourth-straight tournament title.

Limestone, who ranks No. 6 in the Southeast region, will learn its 2018 NCAA Women's Soccer Championship draw on Monday (Nov. 6) night at 6:30 p.m. on the NCAA Selection Show.


2018 All-Championship Team
Shannon Park, Chowan
Rebekah Beal, Barton
Morgan Patton, Belmont Abbey
Lauryn Harding, Belmont Abbey
Ashley Taylor, Belmont Abbey
Emma Hickson, Limestone
Holly Rawcliffe, Limestone
Alex Mathis, Limestone
Sofia Lundkvist, Limestone

2018 Most Outstanding Player

Selina Boveleth, Limestone

2018 Conference Carolinas Women's Soccer Champion

Limestone College


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University.