Mount Olive Claims Conference Carolinas Women's Outdoor Track & Field Championship; Individual Awards and All-Conference Announced

CENTRAL, S.C. – The 2019 Conference Carolinas Women's Outdoor Track and Field Championship was held April 26-27, 2019 on the campus of Southern Wesleyan University in Central, S.C. University of Mount Olive would notch the outdoor title with a team score of 200 points.

In addition to the team title, Mount Olive's Shona Blades was named the Track Athlete of the Year, while teammate Taylor Moncrief was named Field Athlete of the Year and Southern Wesleyan's Mycherie Onwuzurukie earned Freshman of the Year. Matt van Lierop of Mount Olive was tabbed the Coach of the Year after leading the Trojans to the Conference Carolinas Women's Outdoor Track & Field Championship.

New to the Conference Carolinas postseason award offering is the Elite 23 Award. The Elite 23 Award is modeled after the NCAA's Elite 90 Award, which is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative GPA at their respective championship site. The inaugural winner for women's outdoor track & field is North Greenville University's Lillian Haines.


2019 Conference Carolinas Women’s Track Athlete of the Year - Shona Blades, Mount Olive

2019 Conference Carolinas Women’s Field Athlete of the Year - Taylor Moncrief, Mount Olive

2019 Conference Carolinas Women’s Freshman of the Year -
Mycherie Onwuzurukie, Southern Wesleyan

2019 Conference Carolinas Women’s Coach of the Year -
Matt van Lierop, Mount Olive

2019 Conference Carolinas Women’s Elite 23 Award -
Lillian Haines, North Greenville


2019 Conference Carolinas Women's Team Standings - Full Results

1) Mount Olive - 200

2) Southern Wesleyan - 143

3) Limestone - 106

4) Converse - 69

4) North Greenville  - 69

6) Barton - 63

7) King - 36

8) Emmanuel - 33.5

9) Lees-McRae - 31

10) Belmont Abbey - 28.5


Women's All-Conference Teams: 

(Top 3 finishes are 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Team All Conference)

Women's 100 Meter Dash
1. Zawadi Brown, Limestone
2. Lyric King, Southern Wesleyan
3. Sydney McCoy, Mount Olive

Women's 200 Meter Dash
1. Zawadi Brown, Limestone
2. Michele Beugre, Southern Wesleyan
3. Takeitha Glaspie, Barton

Women's 400 Meter Dash
1. Jami Lewis, Southern Wesleyan
2. Collia Rowe, North Greenville
3. Skylur Taylor, Limestone

Women's 800 Meter Run
1. Celine Ritter, Mount Olive
2. Hayley Singletary, Southern Wesleyan
3. Julia Otranto, Belmont Abbey

Women's 1500 Meter Run
1. Celine Ritter, Mount Olive
2. Julia Otranto, Belmont Abbey
3. Kirstin Barton, King

Women's 5000 Meter Run
1. Shona Blades, Mount Olive
2. Celine Ritter, Mount Olive
3. Kirstin Barton, King

Women's 10,000 Meter Run
1. Shona Blades, Mount Olive
2. Kirstin Barton, King
3. Elise Tanner, Mount Olive

Women's 100 Meter Hurdles
1. Alisha Wright, Emmanuel
2. Chyna Campbell, Southern Wesleyan
3. Daeja Belton, Converse

Women's 400 Meter Hurdles
1. Brittney Augustin, Lees-McRae
2. Emily Beisecker, North Greenville
3. Briley Arnold, North Greenville

Women's 3000 Steeplechase
1. Shona Blades, Mount Olive
2. Amber Owens, Mount Olive
3. Mary Abbott, North Greenville

Women's 4 x 100 Relay
1. Southern Wesleyan
2. Limestone
3. Barton

Women's 4 x 400 Relay
1. Southern Wesleyan
2. Limestone
3. North Greenville

Women's High Jump
1. Taylor Moncrief, Mount Olive
2. Jacqueline Thring, Mount Olive
3. Brittany Beckford, Mount Olive

Women's Pole Vault
1. Kristin Frost, Converse
2. Hannah Asselin, Converse
3. Clara Heiss, Emmanuel
3. Madison Cantrell, Lees-McRae

Women's Long Jump
1. Mycherie Onwuzurukie, Southern Wesleyan
2. Serenity Hunt, Converse
3. Taylor Moncrief, Mount Olive

Women's Triple Jump
1. Shekinah Wilder, North Greenville
2. Taylor Moncrief, Mount Olive
3. Shandora Cheeseboro, Limestone

Women's Shot Put
1. Skyler Gadsden, Limestone
2. Paris West, Southern Wesleyan
3. Kelsie Smith, Southern Wesleyan

Women's Discus
1. Paris West, Southern Wesleyan
2. Adisan Funke, Limestone
3. Skyler Gadsden, Limestone

Women's Hammer
1. Candy Lockett, Mount Olive
2. Kelsie Smith, Southern Wesleyan
3. Jade Johnson, Limestone

Women's Javelin
1. Bayle Wood, Lees-McRae
2. Kamber Skeen, Mount Olive
3. Tameia Morrison, Mount Olive

Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athleticconference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount OliveNorth Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University.