Mount Olive's Craig Named Conference Carolinas Male Athlete of the Year

HIGH POINT, N.C.University of Mount Olive's men's cross country/track & field student Adam Craig has been named the Conference Carolinas Male Athlete of the Year for 2017-18, the Conference announced today. The award marks Mount Olive's second in the last five years, breaking a three-year Limestone streak.

Craig, an exercise science major from Lauder, Scotland, had an outstanding 2017-18 year, compiling numerous conference, region and national accolades.

During cross country season, he led Mount Olive to a Conference Carolinas team championship and NCAA Division II Southeast Region team championship. Craig would individually earn first team All-Conference Carolinas honors, all-region honors after finishing third in the regional, and All-America accolades after finishing 10th at nationals.

Indoor track & field season produced more hardware for Craig, as he led the Trojans to another conference team championship, while individually winning a conference title in the 5000m run. He collected all-region distinctions in the mile, 3000m, 5000m and distance medley relay. Nationally, Craig placed sixth in the 3000m run and 10th in the distance medley relay to earn All-America status at the NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships.

Craig led UMO to a hat-trick of titles in 2018, as the team won the conference outdoor track & field title. He would win the individual conference championship in the 1500m run, while taking third in the 800m. Craig would then collect all-region honors in the 1500m, 5000m and 10,000m events. At the 2018 track & field national championships, he would place fifth in the 5000m run and 10th in the 10,000m run to earn All-America status.


Conference Carolinas Male Athlete of the Year Winners

Conference Carolinas

2017-18             Adam Craig, Mount Olive

2016-17              Kevin Reisman, Limestone     

2015-16              Mike Messenger, Limestone

2014-15              Kevin Reisman, Limestone      

2013-14              Bradon Reitano, Mount Olive         

2012-13              Riley Loewen, Limestone              

2011-12              Jake Ternosky, Limestone            

2010-11              Carter Capps, Mount Olive            

2009-10              Bryan Fogle, Erskine                    

2008-09              Michael Crouch, Queens            

2007-08              Jason Sherrer, Mount Olive           


Carolinas-Virginia Athletics Conference

2006-07              Anthony Atkinson, Barton            

2005-06              Brock Godwin, Barton                 

2004-05              Casey Smith, Erskine                   

2003-04              Spencer Ross, Queens                  

2002-03              Andrew McArthur, Pfeiffer             

2001-02              Ben Case, Pfeiffer                       

2000-01              Colin Ducharme, Longwood          

1999-00              Nem Sovic, Pfeiffer                      

1998-99              Todd Bailess, Barton                    

1997-98              Soce Faye, Queens                       

1996-97              Dan Shanks, Coker                      

1995-96              Brett Speight, High Point              


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College is currently completing the NCAA Membership Process and will be fully competing in league championships in the near future.